Extra Bleu Cheese: The Legacy of Rob Rupert

3 years ago today, the Buffalo music scene lost a great guitar player, vocalist and most importantly, friend to all who knew him. Rob Rupert was kind of eccentric, while kind of quiet and detached at the same time. But more than anything, I’d call him unpredictable, which was my absolute favorite thing about him. I used to dick off on his guitar a lot, while taking part in debauchery at his old apartment in the mid 2000s. But it wasn’t until he took me under his wing that I knew what I was getting myself into. I don’t think I would’ve ever started Aspired Infliction had it not been for him. I don’t play much these days. Instead, I scream nonsense into a microphone with my bros in The Last Reign, however, I think I’ll pick the ax up today in Rob’s honor and see what I come up with.

529687_2515438943830_374970926_n

I feel strange writing this, I guess because Rob and I were never “close”, but oddly enough, he was one of my favorite people to be around back in the day. Some people like to sit in front of the TV and watch their favorite comedy shows or movies, but around 10 years ago, I had Rob to fill that gap. Have you ever watched a guy write an entire solo album, write YOUR entire next album, AND devour an entire sheet pizza smeared in bleu cheese all in the same night? Well, if you never met Rob, then your answer is no. His creativity was limitless and his humor never got stale.

542771_2515447424042_767808772_n
The best musical advice Rob ever gave me was this: “Always drop tune your guitar. That way, you’ll have access to all these other cool fuckin’ notes without having to move your hand off the chord!” Rob was primarily against standard power chords for this reason. Go figure. Anyways, as simple an idea as that was, I wrote so many stupid riffs based on that slap of genius and got a 5 year endeavor out of it with Aspired.
535704_2517707240536_128734098_n
Now, the best PERSONAL advice Rob ever gave me was THIS: “Marlinski, go out and tan and while you’re at it, stop looking so serious all the time. You look like your fuckin’ dead.” Can’t say I worked on the former, but have definitely been working on the latter.

So, here’s to writing some shitty metalcore in drop d over the next few days. And here’s to Rob for being one of coolest, most laid back, most entertaining people to be around when I first popped into the music scene. This guy went way too soon and it’s a fucking crime he’s not still out there playing. I’ve got a playlist going below of his past bands. Perhaps you’ve heard of some of them or even remember seeing them. No, seriously. Listen to the stuff. It’s not metal, but leave the name of this blog out of it. These songs are all a good mixture of rock, punk, metal, screamo, etc. Hell, most of you probably listen to Enya and won’t admit it!

Thanks for reading, guys. Till next time!
Leave a Reply

