Flashback: From This Day- Proverbs of Ashes

5292

It was the spring/summer of 2006 and the Buffalo metal scene had this insatiable need for something new, gritty and diverse to wet its pallet. Luckily, Buffalo had a band called From This Day to meet all their fast, heavy, raw, genre clashing needs. Just two summers earlier (2o04), local legendary heavy hitters, Threebelow, had decided to formally make their transition into a faster, more melodic, yet darker entity- the result being FTD.

As luck would have it, a short two years after their conception, we had the album we needed in our grasp. It’s still in my top 5 Buffalo releases to date and in my humble opinion, was seriously underrated and didn’t turn nearly enough heads.

Proverbs of Ashes was released on June 13, 2006. Its comprised of 10 relentless tracks that bleed in and out of each other seamlessly, bombarding the listener with seemingly endless tremolo riffing, sludge, blast beats and 2-step hardcore, all fronted by the positive, ever inspirational lyrics of one Fredrick Dombrowski (one of the most genuinely kindhearted, energetic and uplifting frontmen to ever grace a Buffalo stage). Full on genre clashing like this was nothing new at the time, and it’s certainly not an oddity today- but for its time, Proverbs of Ashes was combining influences from across the board in such a way that has yet to be replicated by any metal band I’ve heard.

I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this album to fans of The Black Dahlia Murder, Cannibal Corpse, Madball, Snapcase, Through the Eyes of the Dead, Unearth or The Acacia Strain all in the same breath. It kicks off with a track called “I Thought I Knew You”, a fast paced blast beat assault that doesn’t quit, aside from its quick 2-step metalcore style chorus, for nearly 3 minutes. As I said before, the songs are short, to the point and relentless. The longest track, “The End”, is just over 5 minutes, but only because it has the slowest tempo on the entire release. Yet, the riffs are still just as driving as they are melodic and tasteful. The shortest track, “Torrents of Perdition” clocks in at just under 2 minutes, following suit in never letting up and leaving you wanting more. Maybe that’s what I find so appealing about the album as a whole- each song ends so abruptly, you want more, then you’re instantly sucked into the next song with no opportunity to mourn the last. That’s why “The End” is such an important track. It’s the only track that slows things down and gives both the music and listeners a chance to breathe and drink in the experience- the ultimate conclusion to an album this fast and aggressive.

Usually, when I do reviews, I do my top 2 or 3 tracks. I have so many on this album, so it was extremely difficult, but I’ve managed to narrow it down. I’ve got to go with “I Thought I Knew You” for its catchy melodic riffs (I’m a sucker for that stuff), “Blood Is Screaming” for its ridiculously fast mosh parts and evil sounding overlays, and finally, “The End”, simply because I’m a metalhead at heart and it’s truly the most “metal” song on the album.

Unfamiliar? Don’t take my word for it, just check it out for yourself if you’re into any of the artists I’ve mentioned above. You’ll most likely leave a fan, and I think I speak for the majority of the local scene when I say I wish this band were still a thing.

From This Day (final lineup) were:

Vocals: Fredrick Dombrowski

Guitar- Andy Stevens

Guitar- Jay Wopperer

Bass- Shawn Gomez

Drums- Allen Malkiewicz

PAST MEMBERS:

Cory Kurasz- Guitar

Matt Swistak- Guitar

Greg DiPasquale- Guitar

David Jednat- Bass

You can purchase Proverbs of Ashes on Amazon by clicking here. You can also check out the opening track, “I Thought I Knew You” via YouTube below:

Leave a Reply

