Album Review: Eyes of the Blind- Post Human Existence

*Written by Matt Swistak

eotb1This was first time I’d ever heard of Eyes of The Blind and heard their music and I must say, I was pleasantly surprised. Fans of both hard rock and metal will find a lot to like about the band’s debut full-length Post Human Existence, so let’s get to it!

Upon listening to the first track “Brazen Bull,” the vocals caught me off guard a bit, not to say that’s a bad thing at all.  The lower style of clean vocals fits great with the overall melancholic vibe of the music. The vocalist also does a nice job of combining both clean and guttural vocals during the pre-chorus.

The second song, “Clarity” opens with a great melody that is repeated during the chorus. I especially like the lyrics of the chorus, “Like poison in my veins, it’s driving me insane.” I’ve always been a fan of bands that have that slower, darker vibe, and I think this song is a great example of that.

Song three, “Intruders” kicks right in with a heavier, thrashier vibe than the first two tracks. What I really like about this track is the band transitions nicely from a heavy, fast verse into a chorus that has an even darker vibe than the first two songs. The guitar player also works in a very tasteful, melodic solo into this song.

“The Answer” is another track that stands out to me with its catchy riffing, clean vocals and even a section of guttural vocals. Then, the last track, “Vengeance” starts out with a very nice piano intro before going into a very dark sounding riff. This, in my opinion, is a great song to close the album, as it reinforces the overall themes and vibes present in the rest of the songs.

As I said earlier, this was my first time hearing Eyes of The Blind, and I certainly look forward to hearing more. The band has a very distinct sound, and it comes through very well on this album. One thing I also wanted to take a second to point out on this album is the drumming. The drummer is playing exactly what is needed to compliment the riffs and add to the overall vibe of the music. If you’re a fan of a darker, melodic, melancholic style of hard rock infused metal, be sure to check out Post Human Existence by Eyes of the Blind.

Eyes of the Blind are:

Ryan Awayda – Vocals
Andrew Abdale – Guitar
Philly B – Bass
Colin Marmion – Drums

Post Human Existence will be released at Rockin’ Buffalo Saloon on August 12. Click here to RSVP.

eotb2

https://www.facebook.com/plugins/video.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2Feyesoftheblind1%2Fvideos%2F1912589592326446%2F&show_text=0&width=560

Leave a Reply

