Album Review: After the Storm- Into a New Era

ats2

I’m extremely excited to announce that I have in my possession, Into a New Era, the debut full length album by local melodic death metallers, After the Storm. But if you want my honest opinion, it’s that I’m very disappointed by it. Don’t get me wrong. I’m not disappointed in the music or vocals- both are top notch. I’m disappointed by the fact that After the Storm is (maybe you guessed it) a studio project.

Founded by Matt Swistak (ex Fireborn) and Pat McFeely, After the Storm is awesome melodic death, throwing back to the glory days of At the Gates, The Crown, Nightrage, In Flames, etc. Right from the opening track, “The Awakening”, you’re thrust back into the ’90s and early 2000s, which is in my opinion, the ideal era of melodic death metal.

Throughout all ten songs, the riffs are infectiously catchy, the vocals are commanding and on point, and the leads are tasteful and well placed.

As is the case with a lot of studio projects, the drums are programmed, leaving a more human touch to be desired. Things get a little dull in the percussion department because of this, but it’s nothing that should deter you from listening to this album when it comes out on August 11, 2017.

If you love the aforementioned bands as much as I do and you’re looking for something driving, melodic and gritty to get you through the end of summer, I highly recommend this album. Hopefully with enough harassment, we can get these boys a temporary full lineup and some live shows to compliment their great song ideas.

Definitely give the songs, “The Awakening”, the title track, “Into a New Era” and the epic two-part riff factory, “Winter’s Shadow” your undivided attention. I’ll include “The Awakening” below.

After the Storm are:

Matt Swistak- Guitars

Pat McFeely- Guitars and Vocals

Leave a Reply

