INTERVIEW: JENNIE HUEFNER (WHEN LEGIONS FALL)

We’ve talked about nostalgia in metal quite a bit in this issue so far, so why stop now? Jennie Huefner is the front-woman leading the charge of Buffalo, NY melodic metallers, When Legions Fall – an immersive take on the blended styles of Killswitch Engage and Lacuna Coil, fused with WLF’s own spin on modern metalcore. Let’s get to it!

1. First off, introduce yourself and give us your personal “scene history”. Tell us about every band or musical project you’ve ever been a part of whether it was a live band or not.

My name is Jennie Huefner. The first band I joined was Canto V back in 2003. I came from a very musical family and have always sang as much as I could to whoever would listen. One of my very best friends from Childhood, Candace Ruszala, managed Spencer’s Gifts at the Eastern Hills mall. She worked with this firecracker of a kid name Brian Deitz. He was a drummer looking for a vocalist for his band and she urged me to give it a shot. I auditioned with a rendition of Heart Shaped Box by Nirvana and they welcomed me in. I spent 2 years with them playing as many live shows and battle of the bands as possible. I found my love for performing live with those guys and it shaped who I am today.

After that:

TEARWAVE 2006 live band

Wings of Lillianna 2010 short lived solo project.

Scarlet Embrace 2011 live band

Necktie Tourniquet 2012 live band

Shadow Siren 2014 live band

When Legions Fall 2020 live band with current members:

Theodore Maul lead guitar

Austin Goldberg drums

Holly Franklin bass

And I am stoked to announce Kimberly Walters on Keys.

2. Who first inspired you to be a vocalist? Did you naturally find your own voice and your own lyrics, or did other artists play into your style heavily in the beginning?

It was my grandparents. They had their own country music band. I grew up watching them rehearse with their friends and wanted to grow up and be just like them. It was a magical time in my childhood. Both of my grandparents sang but my Grandpa was lead. He played guitar and my Grandma electric bass. As far as heavy influences on finding who I was I would say I was shaped by strong female voices. Tori Amos, Bjork, Annie Lennox and Fiona Apple to name a few. I would painstakingly mimic their voices and it wasn’t until I joined my first band until I figured out how to make my voice my own. Lyric writing is something I feel came natural. I couldn’t sing things other people wrote for me with any feeling. I have to completely connect to the words or I have difficulty conveying the message.

3. What is the best advice you think you can give someone looking to join or start their first band?

Have fun! Don’t compromise your art. Do what feels good to you. Fall in love with your creative self and don’t be afraid to share your pain (and joy). Be honest with your intended audience and let them into the scariest parts of you. It is in those vulnerable places they will connect with you and benefit from your craft.

And most importantly stay humble!!!!!

4. Talk about some of the most memorable shows you’ve ever performed at, and what made those events so special.

It’s so hard to choose. I would say a battle of the bands I played with Canto V at Club Infinity. The place was packed and the energy was strong enough to light up the whole city. I know we all felt untouchable that night.

TEARWAVE played a Draculas Ball at the Shampoo Lounge in Philadelphia. That was when I realized the reach the project had. All these people singing the words that I had written. It’s hard to put into words how insane that is. The moment you realize people you have never met sing your songs and that your voice plays a role in those lives. It’s beautiful and humbling.

5. When considering When Legions Fall, talk about the conception of the band, the earliest conversations, and the earliest rehearsals responsible for what the band has become today. How did the band start and basically, how did you come to agree on a stylistic direction?

Legions was already a working project when our drummer Austin reached out to me looking to see if I knew a vocalist looking. It just so happened that I was. I met the guys out at the rehearsal space and we decided to work together. I had already known Austin for years and was eager to work on something new. At the time it was Austin Goldberg , Theodore Maul and Jeff Riederer. We knew we wanted to do something in the melodic metal vein but decided that style should be ever changing. The guys had some stuff already written that we revisited and retooled and became some of the music we play today. We have had some member changes and life changing events that have further shaped us as a band and musicians. I don’t know if we have completely found “our” style or specific sound and that’s ok by us. We have so much room to grow and we look forward to the future.

6. Rank your bandmates’ work without them knowing (until they read this of course)! When it comes to your bandmates in WLF, name your favorite riffs, leads, bass parts, drum grooves, etc. and why these parts stick out to you!

Man. That’s rough. I appreciate my band mates as a whole. There are so many amazing things they do that move me to my core. I don’t think I could choose. I fall in love with them a little more each time we play together because they pull things out of me I didn’t know was there.

7. I have my own thoughts on who I think WLF sounds like, but who do YOU think your band “sounds like” the most?

That’s the toughest question of all!! I can’t wait to hear your answer. I have no idea who we sound like. I have been mulling over that question for a long time. I have come to the conclusion that maybe that is for the best. Carving out our own place and holding our own is pretty badass in my opinion.

8. As a standalone vocalist with no instrument in-hand, what is your favorite stage to perform on of the venues you’ve performed at so far and why?

I have to take it way back and say The Cruise Inn. That place had its own magic hidden in the dirty floors and on that death trap of a stage. I made some of the most important friendships of my life there. So many bands and music fans. Packed shows full of life and memories. Nothing has really come close to that place and I miss it.

9. Plug your band’s online presence and any shows you’d like people to know about!

You can find us on Facebook and Instagram. We are currently working on recording, creating a music video and putting a web page together where you can get the most up to date info, merch and ticket to upcoming shows.

10. Tell me your fondest or most vivid memory of Steve Drac.

Drac was such a big presence man. He made such and impact on everyone around him. This is my fondest and most hilarious memory of him.

Drac came to a Canto V practice. He was a huge fan (that’s putting it mildly) and was friends with my band mates. He really really wanted to sing a song with is live. We closed every show with our song “I fuckin hate you”. There is a part at the end of the song where title is sang and screamed repeatedly by our guitarist Chiggs. Drac so very badly wanted to do this part and we agreed yo have him do it at one of our shows at The Cruise Inn. He jumped up on the stage when it was his time with absolute Confidence he began to chant “I fuckin hate you”. When the song was over he had a shit eating grin and was so proud of himself. The funny part is is that he was absolutely awful. I mean awful. He was so stoked that I didn’t have the heart to tell him but we didn’t ask him again. The point is that He went on to be one of the most passionate and talented musicians I know and the world is darker for his loss. I was blessed to be able to make noise with him and I miss him every single day. I don’t know if that day on the stage with us all those years ago when he was like 18 sparked the fire that carried him through his musical journey but I sure hope it did. All I know for sure is I am grateful for that one hilarious day all those years ago and for everyday after until the last time we shared I stage. I love you dude!

I would like to close with a dedication if I can. I have had the privilege to make music with some of the most amazing humans that have past on from this rock we live on. They have all had a direct impact on me as a vocalist and a person.

Sugar Shane Rizziano :

I feel your drum hits every time my hear beats. Thank you for kicking me in the ass when I wanted to stop creating.

Ben Hochfield:

I hear you voice in my ear like a melody when I don’t believe in myself and I am grateful for those summer night’s listening to you play on your front porch trying to convince me to love Chris Cornell like you did. I still don’t but I listen to him to be closer to you.

Brian Muller:

My dear friend. I cannot express how in awe of your creativity I was. Your integrity and passion to fight for human rights was inspiring and I am a better human over all because I knew you.

Thank you Mike for this opportunity to share my experience. You do great things for the metal community and we appreciate you!

Click the image below to follow WLF on all platforms.

Leave a comment